Enterprise-Record: Liam’s Law wants .05 limit for California drivers
Since the last major change to the state’s drunk-driving standard, in 1990, many Californians have developed at least a foggy sense of how much alcohol they can consume without risking a DUI — or worse.
If a new bill is approved, drinkers might have to change their habits.
That’s the hope, anyway, of Assemblywoman Autumn Burke, D-Marina del Rey. This week, she introduced a bill that would lower the threshold for driving under the influence to .05 percent blood-alcohol content from the current .08 percent.
The bill, AB 1713, is called Liam’s Law in honor of a 15-month-old boy who in 2016 was struck and killed by a drunk driver as his 15-year-old aunt pushed his stroller across a Hawthorne street. Liam’s parents, former mixed martial arts fighter Marcus Kowal and his wife Mishel Eder, have crusaded for a lower legal alcohol limit as one way to reduce alcohol-related traffic deaths in California.
Read the full article here.